LIBRARY LINGO DEFINED
Library science has terms that may not be familiar to people outside of the field. If a librarian uses a word you don't understand, don't hesitate to ask what it means. If you need more information, use this glossary to find the meaning of any unfamiliar library terms.
A
Abstract
Archives: "1. A space which houses historical or public records. 2. The historical or public records themselves, which are generally non-circulating materials such as collections of personal papers, rare books, ephemera, etc."
Article: a brief work - generally between 1 and 35 pages in length - on a topic, usually published as part of a journal, magazine, or newspaper.
Author: the person(s) or organization(s) that wrote or compiled a document. Looking for information under an author's name is one option for searching.
B
Barcode number
The 14-digit number appearing beneath the barcode found on the back on a book. Barcode numbers are used to charge, discharge, and renew books on the online computer system.
Bibliography: "A list containing citations to the resources used in writing a research paper or other document." See also: Reference.
Book: "A relatively lengthy work, often on a single topic. May be print or electronic."
Bookshelves
or commonly referred to as 'shelves". This means the library bookshelves.
Boolean logic
using the words "and" "or" or "not" to help search the databases
Browser: "A software program that enables users to access Internet resources. Microsoft Internet Explorer, Netscape Navigator, and Mozilla Firefox are all browsers."
C
Call number
A combination of numbers and letters that provide a unique description of each item in a library collection. Items are arranged on the book shelves by call number, so the call number is the "address" of materials on the shelf.
Catalog: a database listing and describing the books, audiovisual and other materials held by a library. You can search for items in the catalog by Author, Title, Keyword or Subject. In simpler terms it's search engine into our database like google.
Check Out: the ability to take most materials out of the library, for a limited time using your university ID card. Check Out is done from the circulation desk.
Circulation desk
It is a library reception desk. It's a location in every library where you can check out, return or renew items, ask about missing items, or inquire about fines.
Citation
A citation is a reference or footnote to an item (such as a book or periodical article); a citation contains the author, title, date of publication, and any other information needed to locate the item.
Course reserves
Materials that instructors set aside for the students in a class to read. These items may be borrowed for a short period and and may not leave the library.
D
Database
a comprehensive collection of related data organized for convenient access, generally in a computer.
Dissertation: "An extended written treatment of a subject (like a book) submitted by a graduate student as a requirement for a doctorate."
Download: "1. To transfer information from a computer to a program or storage device to be viewed at a later date. 2. To transfer information from one computer to another computer using a moDatabase: "A collection of information stored in an electronic format that can be searched by a computer."
Due date: the date by which you must return to the library, any library material you have checked out. If you do not return library materials by the designated due date, you are subject to fines
E
E-book (or Electronic book): "An electronic version of a book that can be read on a computer or mobile device."
Editor: "A person or group responsible for compiling the writings of others into a single information source. Looking for information under its editor's name is one option in searching."
Encyclopedia: "A work containing information on all branches of knowledge or treating comprehensively a particular branch of knowledge (such as history or chemistry). Often has entries or articles arranged alphabetically."
F
Full text: a complete electronic copy of a resource, usually an article, viewed on a computer display.
Fine: money charged to you for over due items.
G
Glossary: "An alphabetical list of terms specialized to a field of knowledge with definitions or explanations."
H
Hardware: "The physical and electronic components of a computer system, such as the monitor, keyboard and mouse. Hardware works in conjunction with software."
Hold: "A request by a user to a library that a book checked out to another person be saved for that user when it is returned. “Holds” can generally be placed on any regularly circulating library materials through an in-person or online circulation desk."
Holdings: "The materials owned by a library."
HTML (Hypertext Markup Language): "The computer language used to create documents on the World Wide Web so that they are readable by Web browsers."
Hyperlink: "An image or a portion of text which a Web user can click to jump to another document or page on the Web. Textual hyperlinks are often underlined and appear as a different color than the majority of the text on a Web page."
I
Icon: "A small symbol on a computer screen that represents a computer operation or data file."
Index: "1. A list of names or topics—usually found at the end of a publication—that directs you to the pages where those names or topics are discussed within the publication. 2. A printed or electronic publication that provides references to periodical articles or books by their subject, author, or other search terms."
Interlibrary loan (ILL)
Exchange of books or periodical articles between libraries for a brief period. A service you can use to borrow library materials not owned by BCC Libraries.
Internet: "A worldwide network of computer networks that allows for the transmission and exchange of files. The World Wide Web is part of the Internet."
ISBN (International Standard Book Number)
A four-part, ten-character code given a book (a non-serial literary publication) before publication as a means of identifying it concisely, uniquely, and unambiguously. The four parts of the ISBN are: group identifier (e.g., national, geographic, language, or other convenient group), publisher identifier, title identifier, and check digit. (ALA Glossary)
J
Journal
A type of periodical which contains signed scholarly articles. Journals are usually published by academic or association presses and include bibliographies.
K
Keyword
Generally, this refers to searching a database using "natural language."
Keyword Searching
Keyword searching results in a list of database records that contain all the keywords entered as search terms, according to the logic of the search. A keyword search may be performed in one index, or it may be performed in more than one index combined.
L
Limits/limiters: "Options used in searching that restrict your results to only information resources meeting certain other, non-subject-related, criteria. Limiting options vary by database, but common options include limiting results to materials available full-text in the database, to scholarly publications, to materials written in a particular language, to materials available in a particular location, or to materials published at a specific time."
Loan Desk: See Circulation desk
Loan period: the length of time library materials may be borrowed. Loan periods may differ depending on type of material or status of the borrower.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
List of accepted subject headings used in the Library's catalogs. Copies of LCSH are usually located near the catalogs. An online version is also available.
M
Magazine: a publication containing popular articles, and written in a non-technical style. See Journal, Periodical.
Mouse: "A device that allows the user to move and click the cursor on a computer screen for different functions."
Multimedia: "Any information resource that presents information using more than one media (print, picture, audio, or video)."
N
Newspaper: "A publication containing information about varied topics that are pertinent to general information, a geographic area, or a specific subject matter (i.e. business, culture, education). Often published daily."
O
Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC): "A computerized database that can be searched in various ways—such as by keyword, author, title, subject, or call number—to find out what resources a library owns. OPAC’s will supply listings of the title, call number, author, location, and description of any items matching one's search. Also referred to as “library catalog” or “online catalog.”
Oversize
Books that are too large for normal shelves
P
PDF: "A file format developed by Adobe Acrobat® that allows files to be transmitted from one computer to another while retaining their original appearance both on-screen and when printed. An acronym for Portable Document Format."
Peer review process
Method used by scholarly journals to assure the quality and relevance of the articles they publish. When an article is submitted, the editor sends copies to several reviewers (or "referees") who are recognized experts in the subject of the article. Each reads the article and offers an opinion on whether it is worthy of publication in the journal, using such criteria as soundness of investigative method, whether the author shows adequate knowledge of research on the subject to date, and whether the articles adds to knowledge in the field. Only if the reviewers agree that it meets the relevant criteria will the article be published.
Peer-reviewed article
A scholarly article published in a peer-reviewed journal.
Peer-reviewed journal
Also called a "refereed" journal. A scholarly journal that used the peer review process to select material for publication.
Periodicals
Materials published at regular intervals (at least 3 times a year) and intended to be continued indefinitely. Examples of periodicals include magazines, journals, and newsletters.
Plagiarism
In other words, plagiarism is an act of fraud. It involves both stealing someone else's work and lying about it afterward.
Primary sources
A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event.
R
Reference: "1. A service that helps people find needed information. 2. Sometimes "reference" refers to reference collections, such as encyclopedias, indexes, handbooks, directories, etc. 3. A citation to a work is also known as a reference."
Reference desk
Location in each library where you can get help in using the library and receive answers to your questions.
Reference collection: the reference collection consists of materials used frequently for general information. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes, and other materials. These materials may not be checked out of the library.
Reference librarians
Reference librarians are specialists in the field of information retrieval. Generally they have a Masters degree in library and information science, and many have other graduate degrees as well. They are available at reference desks to help you find information.
Referencing style
It is a set of rules on how to acknowledge the thoughts, ideas and works of others in a particular way. Referencing is a crucial part of successful academic writing, avoiding plagiarism and maintaining academic integrity in your assignments and research.
Remote access: "The ability to log onto (or access) networked computer resources from a distant location. Remote access makes available library databases to students researching from home, office, or other locations outside the library."
Renew/Renewal: "A lengthening (or extension) of the loan period for library materials."
Reserve: "1. A service providing special, often short-term, access to course-related materials (book or article readings, lecture notes, sample tests) or to other materials (CD-ROMs, audio-visual materials, current newspapers or magazines). 2. Also the physical location—often a service desk or room—within a library where materials on reserve are kept. Materials can also be made available electronically." See also: Course reserve.
Reserve materials
A selection of specific books, periodical articles and other materials which faculty have indicated that students must read for a particular course. These materials are usually kept together in one area of the library and circulate for a short period of time only. Inquire at circulation desk.
S
Secondary sources
Books or articles that explain or analyze primary sources. For example, criticism of a literary work.
Serial: "Publications such as journals, magazines and newspapers that are generally published multiple times per year, month, or week. Serials usually have number volumes and issues. The words journal, magazine, periodical, and serial may be used interchangeably."
Software: "The programs installed on and used by the components of a computer system (or, hardware)."
Study Cubicles
These are study desks or tables that are partition to provide a beat of privacy while studying.
Style manual
A publication that sets forth the rules for composition, including format and manner of citing sources, to be used in a particular discipline or profession or by a particular publisher.
Subject heading
Subject headings are a type of controlled vocabulary that is used to take the guesswork
out of searching by using a single term to describe a subject.
T
Title: "The name of a book, article, or other information source."
Thesaurus: "A list of terms which serves as a standardized or controlled vocabulary for identifying, locating, and retrieving information." (Definition from New York Public Library)
Thesis
Truncation
In database searching, the addition of a special symbol (*, #, ?, etc.) to the root of a word to match any record in a database that begins with the letters to the left of the symbol. For example typing forest* in the databse as an expert keyword search would find records containing the words forest, forestry, forests, forested, etc.
Turnitin
Turnitin is an originality checking and plagiarism prevention service that checks your writing for citation mistakes or inappropriate copying. When you submit your paper, Turnitin compares it to text in its massive database of student work, websites, books, articles, etc.
U
Upload: "To transfer information from a computer system or a personal computer to another computer system or a larger computer system."
URL
An acronym for Uniform Resource Locator. It represents a unique location or "address" of a resource located on the World Wide Web.
User ID: "A number or name unique to a particular user of computerized resources. A user ID must often be entered in order to access library resources remotely."
W
Wireless: "The name given to any electronic device that sends messages through space via electric or electromagnetic waves instead of via power cords."
World Wide Web: "A network of information, as a part of the Internet, that includes text, graphics, sounds, and moving images. Also know as the Web or WWW or W3. It incorporates a variety of Internet tools into one method of access, such as the Web browser Internet Explorer, Safari, or Firefox."