VUT Libraries: Mathematics, Physics &amp; Non-Destructive Testing: E-books Randomly-Picked by your Librarian

E-Books that are randomly selected for you.

Non-Destructive Testing & Physics
Mathematics

Advances in Strength of Materials
This collection is the result of bringing together scientists from various countries in order to combine their knowledge concerning the latest analytical, experimental and numerical developments in the fields of Strength of Materials, Fracture Mechanics and Fatigue.
Applied Frequency-Domain Electromagnetics
Understanding electromagnetic wave theory is pivotal in the design of antennas, microwave circuits, radars, and imaging systems. Researchers behind technology advances in these and other areas need to understand both the classical theory of electromagnetics as well as modern and emerging techniques of solving Maxwell's equations. To this end, the book provides a graduate-level treatment of selected analytical and computational methods.
Aristotle's Revenge : The Metaphysical Foundations of Physical and Biological Science
The book interacts heavily with the literature on these issues in contemporary analytic metaphysics and philosophy of science, so as to bring contemporary philosophy and science into dialogue with the Aristotelian tradition.
Electromagnetic Nondestructive Evaluation (XVI)
Electromagnetic Nondestructive Evaluation (ENDE) is the process of inducing electric currents, magnetic fields or both within a test object to assess its condition by observing the electromagnetic response. An important tool in fields as diverse as engineering, medicine and art, it does not permanently alter the object being tested, thus proving invaluable for product evaluation, troubleshooting and research. This book presents the proceedings of the 17th International Workshop on Electromagnetic Nondestructive Evaluation (ENDE), held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in July 2012. ENDE workshop is an important event for all scientists with interests in non-destructive testing.
From Atoms to Galaxies : A Conceptual Physics Approach to Scientific Awareness
From Atoms to Galaxies: A Conceptual Physics Approach to Scientific Awareness teaches heightened scientific acuity as it educates students about the physical world and gives them answers to questions large and small. Written by Sadri Hassani, the author of several mathematical physics textbooks, this work covers the essentials of modern physics, in a way that is as thorough as it is compelling and accessible.
From Glass to Crystal : Nucleation, Growth and Phase Separation: from Research to Applications
This book aims to contribute to this objective, providing a complete overview on these materials. It presents an update on the recent developments concerning the mechanisms of nucleation, crystal growth and phase separation, bringing together theoretical aspects and characterization methods. It also covers current and future applications of a large variety of glass-ceramics.
Fundamental Math and Physics for Scientists and Engineers
Provides a concise overview of the core undergraduate physics and applied mathematics curriculum for students and practitioners of science and engineering Fundamental Math and Physics for Scientists and Engineers summarizes college and university level physics together with the mathematics frequently encountered in engineering and physics calculations. The presentation provides straightforward, coherent explanations of underlying concepts emphasizing essential formulas, derivations, examples, and computer programs.
Materials and Applications for Sensors and Transducers
The topics covered by ICMAST-2011 include: new materials development, fabrication technology, sensing principles and mechanisms, actuators, optical devices, electrochemical devices, mass-sensitive devices, gas sensors, biosensors, analytical microsystems, environmental aspects, process control, biomedical applications, signal processing, sensor and sensor-array chemometrics and - as a satellite event to the conference - the economics and management of high-tech laboratories and products.
Non-Destructive Evaluation (NDE) of Polymer Matrix Composites
Non-destructive evaluation (NDE) of polymer matrix composites is a technical resource for researchers and engineers using polymer matrix composites, professionals requiring an understanding of non-destructive evaluation techniques, and academics interested in this field. Explores a range of NDE and NDT techniques and considers future trendsExamines in detail NDE techniques for adhesively bonded applications. Discusses NDE techniques in aerospace applications including detecting impact damage, ultrasonic techniques and structural health monitoring.
The Science and Technology of Industrial Water Treatment
Mineral scale deposits, corrosion, suspended matter, and microbiological growth are factors that must be controlled in industrial water systems. Research on understanding the mechanisms of these problems has attracted considerable attention in the past three decades as has progress concerning water treatment additives to ameliorate these concerns. The Science and Technology of Industrial Water Treatment provides a comprehensive discussion on the topic from specialists in industry and academia
Theory and Uses of Acoustic Emissions
This new book presents current research in the study of the theory and uses of acoustic emissions. Topics discussed include acoustic emission from rocks generated in the course of a variety of experiments; applying the acoustic emission technique to estimate the defect density and strength of adhesively bonded couplings and structural health monitoring of ships and offshore structures using acoustic emission testing
Thermodynamics and Phase Transformations : The Selected Works of Mats Hillert
In the beginning of the twentieth century, the discovery of the discontinuity of energy challenged the principles of classical physics. Origins and evolution of quantum physics presents the founding texts of this indispensable branch of fundamental physics, from earliest antiquity to the present day.

Advances in Applied Mathematical Problems
Advances in Applied Mathematical Problems summarizes interdisciplinary work within the field of applied mathematics.
College Algebra : Special Equations, Functions, and Logarithms
With a concise but rigorous approach, this group of four books on the fundamentals of algebra at the college level introduces the student to the full spectrum of mathematical tools that will serve him or her through all quantitative subjects at the university level, including as a preparation for first year calculus.
Combinatorics : An Introduction
Bridges combinatorics and probability and uniquely includes detailed formulas and proofs to promote mathematical thinking Combinatorics: An Introduction introduces readers to counting combinatorics, offers examples that feature unique approaches and ideas, and presents case-by-case methods for solving problems. Detailing how combinatorial problems arise in many areas of pure mathematics, most notably in algebra, probability theory, topology, and geometry, this book provides discussion on logic and paradoxes; sets and set notations; power sets and their cardinality; Venn diagrams; the multiplication principal; and permutations, combinations, and problems combining the multiplication principal.
Concept-Rich Mathematics Instruction : Building a Strong Foundation for Reasoning and Problem Solving
Have you ever wondered why students too often have only a rudimentary understanding of mathematics, why even rich and exciting hands-on learning does not always result in "real" learning of new concepts? The answer lies in whether students have actually learned mathematical concepts, rather than merely memorizing facts and formulas. Concept-Rich Mathematics Instruction is based on the constructivist view that concepts are not simply facts to be memorized and later recalled, but rather knowledge that learners develop through an active process of adapting to new experiences.
Differential Equations, Chaos and Variational Problems
Differential equations are a fast evolving branch of mathematics and one of the mathematical tools most used by scientists and engineers. This book gathers a collection of original articles and state-of-the-art contributions, written by highly distinguished researchers working in differential equations, delay-differential equations, differential inclusions, variational problems, Young measures, control theory, dynamical systems, chaotic systems and their relations with physical systems.
Finite Mathematics : Models and Applications
Features step-by-step examples based on actual data and connects fundamental mathematical modeling skills and decision making concepts to everyday applicability Featuring key linear programming, matrix, and probability concepts, Finite Mathematics: Models and Applications emphasizes cross-disciplinary applications that relate mathematics to everyday life. The book provides a unique combination of practical mathematical applications to illustrate the wide use of mathematics in fields ranging from business, economics, finance, management, operations research, and the life and social sciences.
Frontiers in Fractional Calculus
This book brings together eleven topics on different aspects of fractional calculus in a single volume. It provides readers the basic knowledge of fractional calculus and introduces advanced topics and applications. This is a useful reference for researchers and graduate level mathematics students seeking knowledge about of fractional calculus and applied mathematics..
Fundamental Approach to Discrete Mathematics
"Fundamental Approach to Discrete Mathematics" is a required part of pursuing a computer science degree at most universities. It provides in-depth knowledge to the subject for beginners and stimulates further interest in the topic. The salient features of this book include: Strong coverage of key topics involving recurrence relation, combinatorics, Boolean algebra, graph theory and fuzzy set theory. Algorithms and examples integrated throughout the book to bring clarity to the fundamental concepts.
Introduction to Louis Michel's Lattice Geometry Through Group Action
The book is aimed at graduated and post-graduate students and young researchers in theoretical physics, dynamical systems, applied mathematics, solid state physics, crystallography, molecular physics, theoretical chemistry.
The Mathematical Imagination : On the Origins and Promise of Critical Theory
The Mathematical Imagination shows how Scholem, Rosenzweig, and Kracauer's engagement with mathematics uncovers a more capacious vision of the critical project, one with tools that can help us intervene in our digital and increasingly mathematical present.
Mathematics for Physical Chemistry
"Mathematics for Physical Chemistry" is the ideal supplementary text for practicing chemists and students who want to sharpen their mathematics skills while enrolled in general through physical chemistry courses. This book specifically emphasizes the use of mathematics in the context of physical chemistry, as opposed to being simply a mathematics text. Provides chemistry-specific instruction without the distraction of abstract concepts or theoretical issues in pure mathematics.
Numerical Methods : Using MATLAB
Numerical Methods using MATLAB, 3e, is an extensive reference offering hundreds of useful and important numerical algorithms that can be implemented into MATLAB for a graphical interpretation to help researchers analyze a particular outcome. Many worked examples are given together with exercises and solutions to illustrate how numerical methods can be used to study problems that have applications in the biosciences, chaos, optimization, engineering and science across the board.