Faculty of Engineering and Technology: Electronic Databases

Launched in November 2004, it is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.

Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus and Current Chemical Reports. This three citation indexes support powerful cited reference searching.

Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world, including engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1969. The database is updated weekly.

ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world’s science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

ASM Handbooks, formerly known as “The Metals Handbook”, is a multi-volume reference work (25 volumes) with a long history of providing the most complete information on the properties, processing, and applications of engineering materials.

Students consistently referred to “finding context,” … , as the most laborious, yet requisite, part of the research process.”
Reference is the foundation of research. Credo Online Reference Service enhances the research experience by combining authoritative reference content with a one-stop exploratory search platform that drives usage of all trusted library resources.

Emerald/MCB primarily provides access to full-text managerial information, management reviews, etc. Abstracts available: international civil engineering abstracts, computer abstracts, international database, and computer communications and security abstracts.

ECS covers a broad range of phenomena relating to electrochemical and solid-state science and technology.

JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution full text articles, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

The oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. They publish over 900 peer-reviewed research journals each year. Part of the academic division of Informa plc, the impressive Routledge portfolio covers many different subjects within social sciences and humanities and is at the forefront of academic publishing in these fields. Full text to 1916 journals.

Includes leading international peer-reviewed titles, including high-impact research journals published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Subject area coverage: business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Access to 570+ SAGE journal titles, comprising over 292,000 full-text articles as well as access to the backfile of each journal, dating back to 1999.

SpringerLink covers information on biomedicine, life sciences, clinical medicine, physics engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities and economics.

The VUT subscribes as from 2018 to the Wiley Core Collection, which hosts the world’s broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1340 journals. At the moment the VUT subscribes to 2 e-books (Bioelectronics – from theory to applications and Introductory Bioelectronics for Engineers), which can be access at the same place as the online journals.